

American Patriotic Holidays

The six national patriotic holidays

- President's Day 3rd Monday in February
- Memorial Day Last Monday in May
- Flag Day June 14
- Independence Day July 4
- Constitution Day September 17
- Veteran's Day November 11

President's Day

- Celebrated annually on the 3rd Monday in February
- Commemorates all who have served in the office of President of the United States
- Officially, the U.S. government still calls the day "Washington's Birthday"
- Some think it is a combination of Lincoln's Birthday and Washington's
- President Nixon wanted it to be a celebration of all Presidents, and he signed a proclamation to that effect, though it is not an official law

Memorial Day

Remembering those who paid for our freedom.

- Last Monday each May
- Honors all who have died in the service of our country, especially in the United States Military forces
- In 1886, General John Logan declared first official Memorial Day for Civil War soldiers

Flag Day

- Celebrates the day our flag became an official symbol of our country on that day in 1777 by an Act of the Second Continental Congress
- Not a federal holiday, but President Woodrow
 Wilson in 1916 declared
 it a national day to
 celebrate the flag's
 history and meaning





Constitution Day

- Commemorates the day in 1787 when the new states adopted the new U.S. Constitution
- September 17
- Not an official holiday; rather it is an "observance"



Veteran's Day

- November 11
- Used to be called Armistice Day
- Celebrates the day that World War 1 officially ended in 1918
- Commemorates the signing of the "armistice" or peace treaty between the Allies and Germany
- Celebrates all who have served in our nation's military

